Honda Rebel 250 & 450 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2012 Honda CMX250
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

In my journey to chopper-afy my rebel, I’m going to fabricate a sissy bar. I’m really into the super super high ones (30”+)
My question is two-fold:

1. What’s the ideal position for height? I’m goi my to have my girlfriend as a model; should I aim to have it below the neck? Above? If I’m going with a tall one,how should it sit against the passengers back?

2. Ideas for mounting bracket? Im a welder by trade, so I can make whatever. I was thinking a rectangular piece of mild steel with two bolt holes on each side, putting washer-lock-lock nut on for hardware. What’s a good size oh hardware to make sure the connection is safe? And should I go for stainless hardware or galvanized? Mild + paint?

thanks for the input!

·
Premium Member
1985, 86 CMX250C, 81 CM200T, 74 CL360, Invisible to cages, treat them accordingly. Avoids Road RAGE!
3,412 Posts
Here are pictures of my sissy bars on my '85 and my '86. I just added a larger piece of plywood to get my sissy bar higher. It goes up behind the shoulder blades of my wife. She is so comfortable with the high one, that sometimes I need to wake her up.

Attachments

·
Registered
2012 Honda CMX250
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Here are pictures of my sissy bars on my '85 and my '86. I just added a larger piece of plywood to get my sissy by higher. It goes up behind the shoulder blades of my wife. She is so comfortable that sometimes I need to wake her up.
ohhh these look amazing!

the ones I’m thinking of are like, almost comically big, looks a bit taller than the one you have. Are these kind of uncommon? Let me attach a picture of what I was thinking

Wheel Tire Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle

·
Premium Member
1985, 86 CMX250C, 81 CM200T, 74 CL360, Invisible to cages, treat them accordingly. Avoids Road RAGE!
3,412 Posts