Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
I have a 1986 Honda Rebel 450 I inherited from my uncle. It was running once i got a new battery but now there is a new issue. I will be changing the cables as they are corroded but I am unsure if this will solve it. I am pretty new to bikes in general but the bike just wont get enough power to start. Hopefully someone here will be able to give some tips :)

·
Super Moderator
29,320 Posts
Welcome. Try jumping it from a car battery, but be sure the car's engine is off. If it starts, the bike battery is weak. Make sure the ground connection at the frame isn't corroded or loose.

·
Registered
1,107 Posts
Welcome.

Happy to see another 450 rise from the ashes!

Careful with that car battery jumping stuff, you can 'melt' things.

Charging the battery is much safer. If you have a hill or can do so, push starting might be worth a try.

I would recommend checking your stator and regulator/rectifier w/a multimeter. These systems maintain/charge the battery when riding and a new battery should not die out easily.

Check for spark too. Fresh plugs are a way cheap investment. Is that CDI 30 years old? A new CDI is not a cheap investment, but well worth the peace of mind (for me at least)

A full tune up is always a good idea!

With a service manual and this site, you'll be rolling soon!

·
Super Moderator
7,813 Posts
Welcome to forum n enjoy your ride

·
Registered
6 Posts
Welcome to the forum. I also have a 86 450 rebel that i have bought as a new rider. I will enjoy watching your progress as I'm sure i may encounter some of these issuses eventually. Please keep us posted on your progress.

·
Super Moderator
29,320 Posts
When jumping from a car battery, as long as it is 12 volts to 12 volts there is no problem, just dont start the car's engine.

·
Registered
1,107 Posts