Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My right side mirror is loose and moves out of place all the time. It's not loose where it threads onto the bars but in the ball joint between the back of the mirror at the top of the stem.

I was thinking of using Locktite but when I went shopping for it, there were several different products for a lot of applications. None seemed appropriate for what I want to do.

I've never used Locktite before but have seen it mentioned here. Anyone know if it will work for my purpose?

·
Premium Member
17,771 Posts
Loctite won't work for that application. Loctite is an anaerobic compound drying only when there is no air present. It works very well for threaded fasteners because of that.
You would want an epoxy, preferably a two part. The chemical reaction is what sets the epoxy

·
Registered
127 Posts
But once set the mirror won't be adjustable anymore... right? Seems to me it needs something that won't set tight.

·
Registered
2,162 Posts
I have not been confronted with that problem, but I would believe you might be able to spin the mirror and it will tighten to the threaded nut and bolt system that is probably hidden inside. Another thing you might try is to remove the Mirror, stem and all, from the bike and use a silicone adhesive to fill the gap and stiffen the adjustment.

Another possibility is to bend, dent or distort the ball and joint connection without breaking the mirror, Finally, for 10 to 20 dollars you can buy replacement mirrors that will bolt right up.. and New is always newer..

·
Registered
4,257 Posts
is there a nut just below the joint? I know I was able to adjust and tighten mine down by tightening that.

·
Super Moderator
30,194 Posts
Yup, try what Ferrari suggested: spin the mirror and it will tighten to the threaded nut and bolt system that is probably hidden inside

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·