Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the form and I have a question that I can’t seem to find the answer to anywhere. I have a 1986 Honda rebel 450. When I first got the bike it ran rough but it did run, I took it to a bike mechanic to get the carbs cleaned and ever since then the carbs have been gushing gas when I ride. I’ve taken the carbs and sometimes the whole bike to several shops and no one can figure out what is wrong. Two of the several mechanic I took the bike to said that the float needle housing is warped and that might be the issue. I really want to ride this bike all summer… I am reluctant to sell. So the big question is... are there any carbs (be Specific please) that I can use to replace the originals without compromising the bike to much.
Ps. Please add links and websites if possible
Ps. Yes I’ve tried rebuild kits

·
Super Moderator
3,930 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Sorry. I don't think anyone has a direct or close enough carb replacement documented. So it would be trial and error. It does sound like your float needles are not seating but can't understand how the housing could get warped. I wonder if the float seat could be polished, lapped, or replaced. I don't think the float seat is a replacement part but one could be made with a small lathe and 0.02 worth of brass. Do you have the carb disassembled to take pics?

Reactions: Melzina

·
Super Moderator
3,930 Posts
Honda has a part # for left and right carbs. Different part #'s have been revised and different part #'s for 1986 and 1987. I believe they are all interchangeable except for left and right are slightly different.

1987 carb part #'s

25CARBURETOR ASSY.
16100-MM2-771 16100-MM2-772
25CARBURETOR ASSY.
16100-MM2-772
26CARBURETOR ASSY., R.
16101-MM2-771 16101-MM2-773
26CARBURETOR ASSY., R.
16101-MM2-772 16101-MM2-773
27CARBURETOR ASSY., L.
16102-MM2-771 16102-MM2-773
27CARBURETOR ASSY., L.
16102-MM2-772 16102-MM2-773