Honda Rebel Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, truthfully, the title hasn't been signed over yet, but the deal is pretty much done and I'm super excited. I've been looking for one of these to learn on and conveniently found one for sale a 10 minutes walk from me. I'm a little intimidated by the age of the bike but it's only got 5000 miles on it and the seller is a sweetheart, seems to have kept it in great shape and gave me an honest rundown of its quirks.

A few questions for anyone who happens to read this - first, while I figure out balancing (I've never ridden!) going suuuper slowly, I was thinking of installing crash bars to help me avoid dropping it and ruining one of the discontinued parts I'll then never be able to replace. Anyone have a good source on these for an older model? Also, I read a lot about crash bars on here and don't think I'd keep it on once I started riding at higher speeds. I'm sort of treating them like training wheels.

Second, I'd appreciate any tips on finding replacement parts for this old of a bike. The shifter pedal works but is sticky between neutral and 2nd and the seller told me it can only be fixed by buying a new shifter pedal/set. He replaced a pin with a screw, apparently, which causes that small problem. The part (#19) is discontinued but I'm trying to track it down.

·
Super Moderator
30,605 Posts
Welcome to the forum. There are usually used parts for the first generation Rebels (1985-87) on ebay. Many of the parts are interchangeable with the second generation (1996-2016) bikes, and new parts are still available.