Honda Rebel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Thanks for the detailed post, bikelearner. I am a new owner/rider who wants to maintain my bike by myself as much as possible, but I have had no previous mechanical experience. I am, however, learning a lot from this forum everyday. Could you please tell me, when you say the slow jet was clogged, do you mean the tiny holes along the narrower cylinder part, or is there a larger hole at the tip (I couldn't tell from the side-view)? And how did you clean it? Thanks again for the excellent labelled photos.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the detailed post, bikelearner. I am a new owner/rider who wants to maintain my bike by myself as much as possible, but I have had no previous mechanical experience. I am, however, learning a lot from this forum everyday. Could you please tell me, when you say the slow jet was clogged, do you mean the tiny holes along the narrower cylinder part, or is there a larger hole at the tip (I couldn't tell from the side-view)? And how did you clean it? Thanks again for the excellent labelled photos.
Assuming the slowjet is a cylinder, I am referring to the central "pipe" going from one end to the other. This was clogged. Fuel moves from the float chamber to the main carb chamber along this pipe. The four holes visible on the curved part of the cylinder is where the vaporized fuel goes into the main carb chamber. There are actually four more holes, on opposite sides of the curved part of the cylinder. These eight holes were not clogged.

I used a fishing line to clean all holes in all the jets, though all the holes seemed clean. Before the cleaning, I sprayed CRC Clean-R-Carb carb cleaner on all the parts, and let the jets sit in a small puddle of carb cleaner for 15 minutes.

I have not shown all details because others in the forum have explained how to disassemble a carb.