Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from Oklahoma, newbie here as of yesterday. Glad I found this forum! Really interesting so far, had no idea the Rebel had such a following! Just bought mine this weekend, my first bike in 34 years, haven't ridden since I was 16....the ride home after buying it was a hair - raising experience but fun to be riding again. I backed off my instinct to get one of the larger mid sized cruisers I was looking at and thought the entry level Rebel a smarter choice. Problem is, I'm 6'2" and 275....this is how if feel riding it :

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
29,180 Posts
Welcome. Good decision on the Rebel. Have you taken a basic riding course? Even if you rode before, you'll learn a lot if you enroll in one.

Some of the things I recall larger riders doing to their Rebels to make them more comfortable. 1. Rotate handlebars up some, being sure not to overtighten the bars in the clamps. The rubber clamp bases are designed to help reduce vibration. 2. Move the seat up and/or back. Do a tag search for seat mods to find the many threads dealing with this.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply! The handlebars actually feel really good to me. My problem is I have a lot of trouble finding the footpegs when I take off. They are to high and too far back for me....
I am enrolling in A MSF course today to get my motorcycle endorsement back on my license. Looking forward to it!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The only one they have apparently is $249 and includes a heel/toe shifter. Is that my only option? Is that what you have?

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I see some floorboards without the shifter /brake on eBay from China... But it looks like the left one would surely interfere with using the stock shifter.... Stuck.

·
Registered
6,010 Posts