Honda Rebel Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All-
I recently bought a beat up rusty '87 Rebel 250 to bob out. I've been reading the posts on this forum and everything really helped with ideas and how-tos. Last weekend I tore out the airbox (literally, with a sawz-all after all else failed). I couldn't believe all the hoses and extra parts connected to it. This might have been covered in another thread, but I've searched and can't find it. Which is: What do I need to keep attached to the carb out of all the attachments I pulled off?
Although this is my 20th bike, I've never done anything like this before. I'm having a blast and hope to have some pics when it starts taking shape. I already have all the parts in that I ordered for it, just needs to be put together.

·
Registered
10 Posts
you need to attach a breather hose filter, usually cost about 10 bucks, like a tiny K&N cone and also you need to get another air filter that clamps on to the actual carb.

·
Premium Member
11,902 Posts
What do I need to keep attached to the carb out of all the attachments I pulled off?
For optimum results? The airbox itself... ;)

·
Premium Member
17,771 Posts
Ditto.
That pod filter on the breather is an unwise thing. Moisture can mix with the oil mist, plug that up. Pressure then builds in the crankcase. The usual result it the left side crank seal gets pushed out, resulting in the dreaded left side leak.

·
Super Moderator
4,123 Posts
Hi All-
I recently bought a beat up rusty '87 Rebel 250 to bob out. I've been reading the posts on this forum and everything really helped with ideas and how-tos. Last weekend I tore out the airbox (literally, with a sawz-all after all else failed). I couldn't believe all the hoses and extra parts connected to it. This might have been covered in another thread, but I've searched and can't find it. Which is: What do I need to keep attached to the carb out of all the attachments I pulled off?