Honda Rebel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 83 Posts

Registered
1986 CMX450
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got a new to me cmx450. I got maybe close to 800 miles on it. I've noticed some stuff which might not even be anything. Keep in mind I am new to motorcycle altogether so my questions might be stupid.

The engine won't idle unless choke is almost fully on all the time or it will cut out the motor. Does matter how warm the motor is or how long I've been driving it, It will die. I am driving with choke fully open on all the time if that makes sense.

I get about 40 gallon per miles. Not sure if it is related to choke being fully opened all the time. I'm not trying to nick pick my mpg as I have fun and that's all that matters to me. I love riding.

3rd and most serious complication is my battery keeps dying. On Saturday the bike died went home and brought a spare battery. It started right up again, then I disconnected the positive termenial and the bike was still running. Today the battery is drained again. I'm guessing alternator. I just bought a brand new battery. Ideas or suggestions?

I want my bike to be reliable. If not for the battery dying it would be reliable. I'll drive with choke on all day if it is reliable.

Thank you.

Registered
85 CMX 250C, 82 GW Remember that you are invisible, treat all others accordingly. Avoids Road RAGE!
40 gpm sounds like an old army tank! 馃槈
Most of these have set for years. The 450 was only made in 1986 and 87. So if it's only get 800 miles it's set an awful long time. It needs a carb rebuild for sure!!!
If the bike still runs with the battery disconnected, that means the alternator is producing plenty of power. I would look for the fault elsewhere.

Super Moderator
1987 CMX250C AC
Welcome to the forum

Your battery went dead while positive cable disconnected??
or had you reconnected battery?