Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so I'm new to the bike scene and trying to get this rebel back on the road, Little back story to help my situation... bought a 85 250 rebel, it hasn't ran in 2 years before I picked it up..
when I got it the bike didnt have keys or a carburetor or stock air box .. so I finally got a key made and bought a OEM Used carb NO LUCK on stock airbox( I'm going to build a Bobber and going to get a pod like filter to clean up the look...with that being said I bought a kit off eBay to try and clean and replace jets..

Installed carb with new kit, bike turned over but really rough throttle response i seem to be losing it either in the 20%-80% or the 80%-WOT not 100% (no filter at all at the moment) I was able to get one a week after and just mounted against the carb.. I changed the oil and spark plugs Again it had been sitting for 2 years so when I pulled the plugs they were super black. So i was reading a little through the forums and someone brought up a question and I realized mine was the same way.. Under the Gas tank there is a line and someone capped it off.. AND in someone's response to the guy he said it cant be like that because it might not be letting enough fuel to fill up the float bowl.. Is this true?

So with that being said I need help/answers because I'm trying to get this bike but to running and I'm lost at the moment.. Vacuum diagram would be nice and if someone happens to have a manual they can share with me would be much appreciated as well.

·
Super Moderator
29,780 Posts