Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 02 250CMX. It has a new carbeurator and battery and spark is good. It obviously turns over but doesn't start. When I turn the throttle it will spit and backfire but never actually start. Any ideas on what to check now?
Compression? It seems okay but I haven't did a compression check. I think it's supposed to be at about 149psi.?

·
Premium Member
1,322 Posts
Give us a little background on the bike, miles, maintenance practices, recent work, modifications, what have you tried so far, etc.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I work as a national guard diesel mechanic in a fulltime shop usually. I have two bikes gl 1500 goldwing and this little 250. I had a coworker put a new carb on it. It has new fuel. It wasnt firing and i found a wire going to the ICM that wasn't connected well. I also put a new ingition coil on it.
It has had starting fluid sprayed into the air intake so I was told. Thats why i wonder if it might've jumped time. Im not sure how to go about checking it. I think the compression is still good. It will turn over and if I throttle it or choke it it seems to maybe sputter or backfire but not on every revolution.

·
Super Moderator
29,308 Posts