Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, my daughter bought this bike last summer for leisure rides but it got some faults and I'm trying to help, I have no manual nor much experience with bikes. Problem one was the starting failure, found out the battery was quite tired even after being recharged so it was replaced. It ran ok till she stored it for our Canadian winter..ouch! Took the battery out and stored it in a warm place.
Fast forward it's Spring and got the bike on the driveway. Put on the battery and fresh gas. It hesitated to start and didn't start. Checked the battery voltage and showed 11.5 v so I put it on charge, now it's 13.5v not running. Checked the plugs , seem the right ones N G K cr6hsa and 0.016 gap. Not sure about the gap .
The spark plugs showed some black oil .
Are there specs for the carburetor?
Any tips or advise I will appreciate.
Cheers.

·
Super Moderator
7,811 Posts
Welcome to forum .Sounds like you have a dirty carby . Due to not draining it before storing for winter, give the carby a good clean and you should be ok

·
Super Moderator
29,310 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Dirty carb is the number one issue these bikes seem to have. There are several threads stickied in the "Wrenching How To" section dealing with carb cleaning. I'd suggest you drain out the old gas and put it in a car. Drain it into a clean container so you can see if there are traces of rust from the tank. If there is rust in the tank, it needs to be removed. Once the carb and tank are clean, install an inline fuel filter to ensure any crud in the fuel doesn't reach the carb.

Here are some threads dealing with the above: https://www.hondarebelforum.com/f39/carburetor-disassembly-and-reassembly-1743.html

https://www.hondarebelforum.com/f39/tank-cleaning-7168.html

https://www.hondarebelforum.com/f39/how-to-install-a-fuel-filter-13278.html

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4