Honda Rebel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So last week, I purchased a 1999 Rebel 250 from a private seller. Turns out he works as a bike technician at a dealership 2 hrs away. He started the bike and kept it running for about 10 minutes while we talked and I looked over the bike. I decided to buy it. We loaded it up on the trailer and I drove 2 hrs home. When I got home it was dark, so I turned the ignition switch to "ON" so I could use the headlights as an additional light source. Before I got the bike off the trailer, the lights went out and it went completely dead. The next day I put a new battery in it and still completely dead bike. I'm new to bikes and not the most mechanical person out there. I thought I was buying a reliable bike but now I feel scammed. I found the fuse box behind the battery and both fuses looked good. I still changed them out and still have a dead bike. I also checked the ground on various spots of the bike and everything was grounded properly from what I checked.

My question is: Is there another main fuse box on the bike that I could check for blown fuses? Thanks.

·
Registered
2001 CMX250 El Bandito, 1984 CB650SC Bike Tyson
170 Posts
Try jumpstarting it from a car with it's engine off. If it starts, it's still a battery issue.

·
Super Moderator
1987 CMX250C AC
1,883 Posts
Main 20A blade fuse is attached to starter relay.. which makes for 3 fuses on your bike..

Now let us talk about the new battery..
most often they come dry and seller or buyer has to fill with acid after which it must be charged 2 amps or less for at least 3 hours.. 1 amp charger for 6 hours as you have 6 amp hour battery..
Quick charging a motorcycle battery 5-10 amps can destroy the battery plates..

I'm with MaconMan77 that you should try jumper cables without car engine running..

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)