Honda Rebel 250 & 450 Forum banner

My rebel only runs with choke on

Tags
choke
5K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  JerryH 
#1 ·
Usually, I needed to turn on the choke for some time in order to warm up the engine.
But right now after winter time I started riding the bike again and even after 30 minutes of running, the engine shuts off when I turn off the choke.
What could the problem which prevents the warmed up engine to run normally with the choke off?

#3 ·
Welcome. ^^^What shakeedogg said. Have you installed an inline fuel filter? It's cheap insurance that any contaminants in the tank or fuel don't reach the carb and mess it up.

#4 ·
Thanks, No I haven't installed an inline fuel filter, I bought used bike 1.5 years ago and it ran great but after the winter this problem started. I have been fueling it with the most expensive gas though, but looks like it didn't help.
Looks like I would need to clean the carb.

In the meantime, I will be riding it with the choke on.
Is there any disadvantage of running the bike with the choke on?

#5 ·
Reactions: kryton
#6 ·
Got it.
Is there any way to clean the slow jet without disassembling the carb?
Also, I am wondering for how much time approximately it would be safe to ride with the choke on while the slow jet is clogged?
I've been reading that when riding with the choke on the spark plug may be damaged, but curious if I have at least a month when I can ride the bike with the choke ON or whether the carb should be cleaned right away?

#7 ·
Got it.
Is there any way to clean the slow jet without disassembling the carb?
In theory, you could do it by removing the float bowl, if you could see the jet and had hands as small as a baby. AFAIK, it's never been done, and would probably take a lot longer than just removing the carb.

#9 ·
Which are?